
Dogtra
Dogtra Pathfinder 2
A GPS tracking and training collar for dogs from Dogtra that sends its position by radio, with no subscription; it includes static stimulation.
- Device
- $429.99
- Plan from
- None needed
- 3 years, all in
- $430
- No subscription needed
- Where it works
- Line-of-sight range from the connector or handheld
- Battery, claimed
- Not stated
- Weight
- 187 g
Good to know
- Works without a phone network or subscription, within radio range
- Its virtual fence can use static correction
Where it stands among 21
Each fact with every tracker's answer. Dogtra Pathfinder 2 is outlined.
How it finds your pet
Radio, a few km
Cellular GPS, anywhere with coverage 15
Radio, a few km 3
Bluetooth, near other phones 3
Plan needed to see location
No plan needed
No plan needed 6
Made for
Dogs
Dogs and cats 9
Dogs 9
Not stated 1
Battery, as the maker claims
Not stated
1 to 8 weeks 8
Months (coin cell or base) 5
Not stated 1
Device weight
187 g
Under 20 g 5
20 to 39 g 10
40 to 79 g 2
80 g or more 1
Plans and prices
In USD, as listed by Dogtra, checked 2026-10-17.
| What you pay for | Price | Other ways to pay | Renews at | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The device | $429.99 | One-off | Not applicable | Pathfinder 2 set; Compass $599.99, Mini Compass $549.99; extra receivers about $250–$280 |
| Subscription | None | No subscription; free app | ||
- Activation fee
- None
- Minimum term
- No subscription
- Return window
- Not stated
- Warranty
- Not stated
Finding your pet
- How it finds
- Radio
- Network
- GPS + radio link to a GPS Connector (for your phone) or the Compass handheld
- Where it works
- Line-of-sight range from the connector or handheld
- Works abroad on the same plan
- Not applicableNot applicable
- Direct range
- Not stated
- Works with no phone nearby
- Not statedNot stated
- Fastest live update
- 2 seconds
- Battery, as claimed
- Not stated
- Battery in live mode
- Not stated
Fits your pet
- Made for
- Dogs
- Weight
- 187 g
- Smallest pet
- 15.9 kg and up
- Water
- IPX9K
- Attaches
- Comes as its own collar
What else it does
- Escape alerts (safe zones)
- YesYes
- Virtual fence
- Static correction
- Activity tracking
- YesYes
- Health insights
- Logs only; no health metrics
- Light on the device
- YesYes
- Sound to find the pet
- YesYes
- Family sharing
- Hunter sharing within the system; up to 21 dogs
- Saves battery at home
- Not statedNot stated
- Apps
- iPhone, Android
Who you're trusting
- Owner
- Dogtra
- Based in
- United States
- Status
- On sale
- If you stop paying
- Nothing to stop: works offline as long as the hardware works
- Sells your data
- Not statedNot stated
- Location history kept
- Location stays between the collar and your devices
- Shutdowns, recalls, incidents
- None found
Where we recommend it
Best pet tracker with no subscription
Radio, so no phone network and no plan: the collar updates every 2 seconds to Dogtra's connector or handheld within range. $429.99. 187 g and for dogs from about 16 kg, so it's a field and hunting dog collar, not a small-dog tag.
Best dog tracker for hiking and hunting
A cheaper way to track by radio: $429.99, updates every 2 seconds, no subscription. 187 g and for dogs from about 16 kg. Its e-fence can use static stimulation.